Surrendering My Politics: Abortion (Part 3)

This year, I am standing for God’s ways and His opinion more than I ever have. The color of my skin, history, emotions will no longer be the scale by which I measure my opinion and base my actions. And you know what? I’m going to do so unapologetically.

Over the past few years, particularly in 2016, God really opened my eyes to His Truth surrounding abortion. We can debate about whether or not it is murder (it is). We can debate about a woman’s right to choose because it’s her body. We can debate it all. But what does God say on the matter? Do you even have a concept of not only the spiritual significance of the act, but the spiritual ramifications?

Then Ahijah took hold of the new garment that was on him, and tore it into twelve pieces. And he said to Jeroboam, “Take for yourself ten pieces, for thus says the LORD, the God of Israel: ‘Behold, I will tear the kingdom out of the hand of Solomon and will give ten tribes to you (but he shall have one tribe for the sake of My servant David, and for the sake of Jerusalem, the city which I have chosen out of all the tribes of Israel), because they have forsaken Me, and worshiped Ashtoreth the goddess of the Sidonians, Chemosh the god of the Moabites, and Milcom the god of the people of Ammon, and have not walked in My ways to do what is right in My eyes and keep My statutes and My judgments, as did his father David. ‭‭I Kings‬ ‭11:30-33‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

The truth is, God divided an entire Kingdom, in part, because of human sacrifice. He lists three deities the people worshipped as His reasoning: Ashtoreth, Chemosh, and Milcom. 

Chemosh (equivalent of Molech) required human sacrifices in order to secure his favor. By participating in an abortion, whether you are the father, mother, or attending medical personnel, you are engaging in an ancient practice which God detests. A practice that not only serves to worship a pagan god, but also energizes that spirit within your life. Maybe you don’t believe in these spirits, but they don’t cease to exist anymore than God does as a result of unbelief.

You can buy the lie that it’s about a “woman’s right to choose”; but it is just that, a lie.

So I can no longer vote for a candidate who openly spits in God’s face by promoting this act. Hillary Clinton is very pro choice and at some point I probably would have considered myself to be the same. But that’s before I really understood the spiritual aspect of it. I was thinking that God gives us a choice so women should have one. At the time, that seemed reasonable enough, but it’s just not going to fly with God anymore. We, as Believers, have to stand up for what is right in the eyes of God. If not, what is the point of even calling ourselves Christians while refusing to represent Christ on the earth?

I understand all the arguments. I even empathize with some of them; I just can’t base my decision on my own feelings nor can I force God to conform to my opinion.

God prepared me in so many ways to make the decision to vote for Donald Trump over Hillary Clinton. In January 2016 I went into early labor at 20 weeks. While in the hospital, a maternal fetal medicine doctor examined me in order to determine whether or not my cervix could be sewn shut. When she realized that possibility was not an option she suggested an abortion citing the risk of infection. I don’t fault her for that. That’s her opinion. But when I politely declined stating that I would not be able to live with myself if I made that choice, she become demonstrative and angry. She told me that there was no point in me being in the hospital if I wouldn’t follow her instructions. They would send me home where I would be at even greater risk of infection.

Can you imagine? I’m in the process of losing a perfectly healthy daughter due to an incompetent cervix and she’s threatening to send me home if I don’t get an abortion. I told her I would not do it and if I get an infection so be it. She left the hospital in an uproar. How dare I not do exactly what she wanted with my body and my child.

For this reason, the “medical necessity” argument does not move me and neither does the woman’s “right to choose” argument. If all women have that right, why did she not respect my choice not to abort? I’m sure she was thinking about money. Or maybe my refusal felt like condemnation surrounding her beliefs. Does it matter? I thought I had the right to choose? Isn’t that what pro-choice is all about? Do it or don’t?


When you choose an abortion, you are making a decision God detests. His opinion doesn’t change based on how you feel. And I’m not saying you’re going to hell if you’ve had one, what I am saying is that there will be spiritual ramifications for it because you’ve energized that spirit within your life. I voted for Donald Trump with the hope that our culture of killing would change. Thankfully, the blood of Jesus washes away all sin and makes all things new.

Read the entire series Surrendering My Politics here

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Firstly, let me say how deeply sorry I am for your loss. I too lost a daughter, at 25 weeks. She would have been 18 on January 13. Take comfort in the knowlege that we shall see our daughters again some day. You have a lot of courage! God loves it when we boldly speak the truth in love as you have done here regarding abortion. I too voted Trump, mostly because he is pro-life. It amazes me that pro-choice only defines abortion for some people, like your physician. What a rude awakening she will have some day when she is accountable for her actions/belief in the idea that life is disposable. My prayer and hope is that our country will awaken to the corporate sin of the abortion (which is actually satanic sacrifice) industry in the US and honor/protect all life. “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” (2 Chron 7:14)
    Bravo on a piece well written.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Thank you for your kind words and support. I actually have a peace over the loss now but it was definitely hard, especially the first half of 2016. Sorry for your loss as well!

      I had second thoughts, which is why it took so long for me to post part 3, but I’m glad I did. I think part 4 will be the most controversial in light of what is going on in the media right now.

      You’re right. The doctor will have a rude awakening. I’m praying for her eyes to be opened to the truth. There’s so much rhetoric surrounding the topic and I think it confuses and/or guilts people.

      At first glance, some of the arguments seem reasonable. Like when you first consider medical necessity and victims of rape. But that’s why I stress that we can’t be led by our emotions.

      Thank you again for responding. I’m very much encouraged by your thoughts!

      Like

      1. Thank you for your kind words. I so admire your faith! I look forward to reading part 4. Blessings!

        Like

Leave a Reply

