Surrending My Politics: God and My Vote (Pt. 2)

I am generally an emotional person. When I say emotional, I don’t mean the openly-cry-in-the-workplace type of emotions. I am not about the crying in public life.

I don’t care what you say, these memes will be forever funny

I am certain I’ve cried publicly at some point, but I prefer to stare wide-eyed until the feeling passes. 

I’m emotional in the sense that I can empathize with people’s pain. For that reason, voting for Donald Trump was a stretch for me. If I were to have thought about my emotional response to some of the injustice that had occurred within this past presidential term and had based my voting decision solely on that, I likely would have done a snarky write-in for my presidential vote. You know, to really stick it to the man. I didn’t do that because, as I stated in Part 1 of this series, I have surrendered everything to God. For me, everything doesn’t include merely that which I’m able part with comfortably. Everything includes all aspects of my life and being, as well as my political views.

It alarms people to tell them you did something “because God told you to do it”. The notion of God telling us to do anything has gotten a bad rep; but the truth is He speaks and instructs, we need only to listen.

The night before the election, God spoke to me on the matter and I casted my vote for Donald Trump accordingly. At the center were two of the most controversial social/political issues: abortion and gay marriage. These aren’t new issues, many people base their voting decisions on their views on the matter. But God specifically spoke to me on His opinion as well as the spiritual implications of a nation who sets policies and laws allowing these things to occur at one’s whim.

The fact of the matter is, I do not submit to the opinion that God and politics don’t mix. Tell that to Daniel whom was held captive in Babylon only to work closely with Nebuchadnezzar or to Joseph who was sold into slavery and later found himself interpreting the king’s dreams. Crack open your Bible and you will, almost immediately, see that God and government go hand in hand and not because of a convenient alliteration, but due to the fact that even He says 

The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD, Like the rivers of water; He turns it wherever He wishes. ‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭21:1‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

I’ll be honest with you, though. It wasn’t until He specifically spoke to me on the matter that I really formed an opinion that was rooted in His. That’s probably because it’s hard to take a stand for what’s right in the times that we are living in. We can be filled with love and compassion for people, moreso than most, and still be labeled a bigot if we go against the status quo. So, while I would have said (or thought at the very least) abortion is killing a child, I would have ultimately conceded to the notion that God gives us a choice so in our laws and policies, people should have the freedom to choose right from wrong. After all, who am I to judge, right?

But even as I think about it now, I ask myself why everyone else gets to be bold about what they believe without risk of labels, yet I’m supposed to be apologetic and demure? Why can’t I be free to love with God’s love, yet stand up for God’s ways? Why is it okay for people to shove the right to abort in my face, yet I’m forbidden to bring up the reasonings why it’s actually not in the involved parties’ best interest? 

Abortion is not a new phenomenon, the killing of children is an ancient practice and because of its ancient history and spiritual significance, I can no longer (and I literally mean for the rest of my days) support a political party with a cavalier approach to the subject.

Up next: the historical and spiritual significance of abortion.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. joliesattic says:

    That’s how it should be. Many people ask God for help in making decisions, but they seldom stay still long enough to listen.
    “Be still and listen” I learned that when I was caring for mother, who was extremely abusive and I questioned why I was doing it. She was abusive before Alzheimer’s and abusive in her demented state, so yes, I often asked “Why?” Fortunately, I had a long drive to work. A good time to pray and… to listen. It was those long that we’d talk and I learned the art of listening. Great post.

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Your story is an excellent illustration of obedience when it’s difficult. I’m glad you did what God told you to do! It’s definitely not always the easy thing but He sees and knows things we don’t.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joliesattic says:

        I learned a lot from the experience and I notice that My sister Di and I, who did all the work had closure whereas my other siblings didn’t.

        Like

      2. ReignofFaith says:

        What aspect of it gave you closure do you think? If you don’t mind me asking, of course.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. joliesattic says:

        I think it was the fact that in caring for mother, we realized how mentally unstable she’d been her whole life. That was something we never realized or see growing up. We thought she was just plain mean because we were so “in it”, getting hurt all the time. As adults we could stop it. It made it possible for us to develop compassion for her and forgive her. When she passed we asked God to take care of her and to give her a garden she could enjoy. We were able to wish her well. She died peacefully. My siblings, with the exception of one brother, still have a lot of anger and bitterness they’ve not worked out. Michael had known all along that she was not well and since he was one of the foster kids, he loved her no matter what grateful that she’d taken him out of a worse situation. It was an odd alignment because she was not as mean to him. It’s like they had this bond.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. ReignofFaith says:

        So I guess you would say that you gained understanding? I also find that helps…knowing the ‘why?’

        Liked by 1 person

      5. joliesattic says:

        Yes, and from a new perspective.

        Like

Leave a Reply

