Surrendering My Politics: God and My Vote

A lot of the things I have experienced this year, probably among the most significant and difficult being the death of my daughter, have led me to a deeper level of surrender. When I was faced with the loss, I really only had two choices: surrender or give up. But how could I give up on life, on my family, on my purpose, and ultimately on God, knowing His love for me?

I know the sacrifices Jesus made and what He truly accomplished for me on the cross. I know He kept me. After delivering my son prematurely, being falsely accused of abuse because of an unexplained fracture in his leg (all of this after I had spent a pregnancy pretty disconnected from Him)…He still kept me in my right mind.


Perhaps that doesn’t move you. But if you only knew the amount of mental and emotional strain I was left under after this sequence of events, you would understand. My body used to reinact the physical birth of my daughter, the pain, the muscle tension. I would find myself clenching my legs together in the middle of the night to save a daughter who had already died.

So I’ve surrendered all of my being, my ways, and my views to God because nothing could ever be enough to show Him my gratitude. I’ve surrendered all of this to Him because I know He has a plan. I’ve surrendered my politics to Him because His ways are higher than mine.

I’m going to let you in on a secret that I pretty much have kept to myself except for a few family members: I voted for Donald Trump.


Withhold your pitchforks for a second, suppress your outrage. You may wonder how any of what I experienced led me to that decision. I have learned God cares about our pain, but not as much as He cares about our progress. When I was in the hospital bed watching my daughter’s life slip away as I held her, He had a plan. When the trauma of the experience kept me up at night, He had a plan. When I asked him who I should vote for (yes actually prayed and awaited an answer) and He said Donald Trump, He had a plan. And that plan was centered upon His love for me and His desire for me to progress in my life and in Him, likewise for anyone willing to surrender.


God cares about the injustice occurring. He cares about the death of my daughter. He cares when innocent life is taken. He cares about this Nation’s history as it relates to race relations. Nonetheless, I cannot escape His plan by avoiding what hurts. Furthermore, I am convinced that His desire is for me to prosper particularly when I’m obedient to His instruction.

Many people are probably wondering how I voted for Trump considering the racial tension surrounding this election. To that, I say God’s own chosen people were enslaved for hundreds of years in Egypt

Then He said to Abram: “Know certainly that your descendants will be strangers in a land that is not theirs, and will serve them, and they will afflict them four hundred years. ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭15:13‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

but He promised that as a result they would be repaid for their pain.

And also the nation whom they serve I will judge; afterward they shall come out with great possessions. ‭Genesis‬ ‭15:14‬ ‭NKJV‬

I’m not saying that offensive, racist, or bigoted things have not been said by Donald Trump. Is he a racist or a bigot? I’m not really sure, but based on my knowledge and relationship with God, those facts are irrelevant. I’ll leave the execution of judgement to Him. The racial tension and pain simply was not my determining factor because I recognize that God can still work through those situations just as He’s always done. He knows what He is doing and I trust Him to do it.

(Depending on people’s interest, this will be part 1 of a series surrounding my political decision. I plan on Part 2 being about how I consulted God and, depending on length, what He said specifically.)

6 Comments Add yours

  1. V Donovan says:

    “Is he a racist or a bigot?” Yes. Yes he is. No questions about it. He is literally the worst and it’s a shame that he has even more power now.

    Like

  2. ReignofFaith says:

    That’s definitely possible but God has executed His will through worst. Hope you stay around for part 2, thanks for reading and taking the time to comment!

    Like

  3. Naaria says:

    Great, great post.

    I don’t believe that the way Trump has been portrayed has been accurate. I won’t go as far as saying it’s completely wrong, nor is it completely right, but I am 100% confident that 100% of people are not getting 100% of his story. It takes digging and an open mind to find things that oppose what’s being fed to us.

    It’s dangerous to judge someone based on what their political opponent, or mainstream news, says of them. It’s dangerous to form your opinion based on someone else’s opinion. If you don’t understand, seek to understand. If you’re afraid, seek to soothe.

    I am an Asian woman, immigrating into the USA. I am unable to vote as of yet, but I am relieved that Trump won. Despite all of this fear surrounding his “racism” and his “hate of immigrants”, I am more confident in him than I ever could or will be of Hillary. I hold no fear of Trump. After all, open minded research would (and did) dispel any doubt I had of him and his commitment to the American people–ALL American people.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Hi Naaria!

      Thanks for reading and leaving your reflections. I am very interested in your perspective on the matter. What made you like Trump over Hillary?

      I completely agree that mainstream media should not be our source of information nor should it be the standard on which we base our opinion. Thanks again for such a thoughtful reflection!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Naaria says:

        I looked into the controversy surrounding Hillary, and a lot of it is horrifying at very the least. Even when you leave out the “conspiracies”, speculations, and the content in the WikiLeaks, the fact that she would straight up lie to the FBI and not face any consequences (one especially being that she is forbidden from running for President) is scary. She is too powerful for her own good and it seems she truly believes she’s above the law.

        Dishonesty is my biggest pet peeve. There is video evidence of her saying she believes “marriage is for a man and a woman”, but in her campaign claims she has “always been for gay marriage”. She will do and say anything to keep her in power; she is not for the American people, she is for Hillary and Hillary only. Even her entire campaign is all about her ie “hashtag I’mWithHer”.

        Trump.. he’s not perfect. I will never say he hasn’t said some questionable things, but when you look into his past, he has always been himself. I may not agree with parts of his assumed-character (by that, I mean what I assume he’s like based on what I’ve learned), but I appreciate that he’s consistent. I also really appreciate that his entire campaign was centered around the American people. On top of that, his actions confirmed his intention which solidifies that idea for me, because he spent time speaking directly to the American people and making the effort to visit many states, especially in the last week of the election.

        I know I may be completely wrong with the conclusion I came to but he, as the President-elect and as a human being who worked so incredibly hard and shattered every negative thing the mainstream media said about him (one poll saying he had a 1% chance to win?), deserves at least the chance to prove the people who support him wrong or right. I believe in the latter, but will graciously accept and admit my mistake of the former comes to be.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

