Write to the Other Side

I’ve really been thinking about my creativity lately. What is the difference between now (being able to turn an idea into a piece) and before (having an idea but being unable to get it on paper)?

In my guest post on

image from businessinrhyme.com

I talk about where my creativity comes from. But now I ask myself how have I gotten to the place where I can turn that creativity into finished work?

I’ve had an on-again-off-again type of struggle with my writing. The relationship was complicated, if not absent. I was filled with ideas for poetry, stage plays, books but was not able to bring any of it to completion. That is, until recently. 

It hit me today that the difference is simple, if not disappointing especially after leaving you in all of this suspense. The difference between now and then is my insecurities. I couldn’t produce because I was too busy worrying about whether it would be good. What would people discover about me through reading it? What would I discover about myself? Can I even write? And why is this chub above my c-section scar so stubborn? 


It sounds silly but all of these questions inhibited me from completing anything.

It’s not that I don’t ask myself these questions now (because I really want to know what’s with this odd c-section incision chub. Seriously, I would appreciate an answer in the comments) but all that self doubt doesn’t stop me anymore. Because I’ve allowed myself to write through to the other side

I think this applies to more than just creative endeavors of the writing sort. What doubts enter into your head that stop you moving forward in your career, relationships, family, finances? What are you afraid of? Don’t allow those thoughts to build up strongholds (barriers) between where you are and where you’re going.


Write through to the other side.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. raymon k nelson md says:

    Love the photos..why worry about chub?

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      The chub is just so darn stubborn lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

