Prayer Still Works

For the first time, I deleted a post. I realized the media coverage of the shooting of Alton Sterling and Philando Castile had caused me a lot of fear and anguish because I am currently raising a black son.


My fears, because his life had already been threatened by the failures of the medical system, were leading me to want to take action. I was considering joining protestors in my area. You know what God asked of me when the thought of joining a protest entered my mind? He asked me if I wanted my son to grow up without a mother. God speaks to and has spoken to me a lot on many subjects, but this is a first for me. He asked me this a few hours ago and afterwards I learned of the Dallas shootings which took the lives of several police officers.

Do you pray? 

I know some of you are not Believers, and I’m grateful to all of those who follow me regardless of their religious beliefs, but to my Christ following readers, how often do you act out of emotion before praying to God? I was shocked when a former friend of mine from college tweeted an open disregard for the power of prayer (he is Christian). He said we have prayed enough, it is time to take action

If you claim to be righteous, you cannot act without first seeking instruction from God and that instruction can only be received through a healthy and consistent prayer life.

How often do you pray? How long do you pray? Do you ask God for instruction?

If you do not feel there is power in prayer, I question your current prayer life. I know its power because it has brought me out of severe post partum depression, post traumatic stress disorder, and even severe, debilitating anxiety. There was a time when my body would reenact the premature birth of my daughter and it would send me into a terrible state internally. I could feel the sensation of blood between my legs. I could feel her tiny leg pushing through my open cervix. I would instinctively clench my thighs to save a daughter who had already died. That was the severity of my anxiety and PTSD.


No doctor delivered me from that. No lawmaker or government official. No medicine kept my symptoms at bay. No friends, family members, or pastors offered me comfort. I sought God aggressively, with everything I had, in prayer and in worship. When I could not sleep, I played worship music to quiet my soul. Prayer works and it is above any strategy this world can offer you.

If you are experiencing challenges, attacks, I am not saying you are the cause, but allow God to be the solution by seeking Him fervently in prayer.

For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds… II Corinthians‬ ‭10:4‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Raymon Nelson MD says:

    Fear is one of the most powerful weapons of the enemy. God did not or does not create fear . 2Tim1:7 The only fear we should know is fear of God for disobedience. Man can kill the body but not the soul…Matt 10:28 Prayer is our most powerful defense against the enemy. ..if we retaliate it is through prayer that we overcome our true enemy who is satan….not any man .

    Thanks!

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Exactly. Anything we will accomplish will be accomplished in the realm of the spirit first.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. powerful post. And you make a great point about praying first.

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Thank you! Thanks for reading!

      Like

  3. Accidentally Single says:

    Pray first before you do anything. You have to be led by the Holy Spirit and not your emotions. This is a very hard time in our country, yet this is a problem that has been blanketed. Now their our cameras everywhere. Unfortunately you have to turn off the TV and radio. You don’t want “news” to sow anger in your spirit. You have to filter everything you allow to have access to you. If His people which are called by His name would turn from their wicked ways and pray, He will heal their land. We need prayer warriors to go to battle on their knees.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      I just don’t have anything to add to this. VERY well said.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

