The Cult of Followers

I haven’t been writing as steadily on my blog as of late. While I could (and have) used the excuse that I “don’t feel led“, the truth is I have recently fallen victim to the social media era in which we currently live.

We pretend that our blogs, Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Snapchat accounts are for us to express ourselves; but we aren’t honest about the fact that social media has shaped our opinion, or at the very least, what we share and how we share it. We are a society of likes and followers now, further deepening our need and desire to be accepted. Everyone is building their brand. Artfully planning what and how they will share in order to get the best response.


I haven’t been writing as steadily on my blog because, though I hate to admit it, I care about the likes I am going to get, the amount of followers I will increase by with each post. I share some deeply personal experiences, and not only that, but any poetry I write, whether it is personal or not comes from a place I would normally keep very private. For people to not like it, not receive it, or not even take the time to look at it is a rejection of my very being.

I stopped writing because I became unsure of my place in the social media craze. Who listens to the non-Christmas celebrating, non vaccinating, pale skinned, green eyed, black Christian who stays at home with her son but also does a little branding when the professional opportunity arises? Where does she fit


I’m still working through this need to fit in and I think a lot of us have it. I also believe that the issue is exacerbated by social media. We need to get to the point where we are completely confident in who we are and we don’t need validation because seeking validation can take you off course and lead you down the path of someone else’s vision for you. Utilizing social media as a means of comparing yourself to others can lead you to seek someone else’s vision.


Be who you are and do so unashamedly. 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful thoughts. So true. Keep writing 🙂

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Thank you for your encouragement! A simple instruction, keep writing but something I sometimes have to push myself to do!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are not alone, I think most of us feel the same most of the times:)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. ReignofFaith says:

        Glad to know I’m not the only one!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous says:

    I love your honesty, thank you for being so transparent !

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Thank you for reading!

      Like

  3. Accidentally Single says:

    Very honest. Every artist wants their art to be admired and provoke inspiration. Writing is no different, it’s an art. Don’t feel bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      I’m reaching for more transparency in my blogging so thank you!

      Like

  4. Celestial says:

    “We’ve become what we seek, followers.”

    Ughh, so deeply true. I completely understand your vulnerability with your art and essentially, your soul. Keep writing though, you never knew who’s watching from afar! Plus, I love your work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Thank you so much! And you continue to do the same you write beautifully 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Zoe says:

    This speaks straight to my heart. Thanks.

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      I’m so glad! It’s something I was turning over in my head as I’ve recently gotten back on Twitter. Thanks for commenting! And stay true to your voice 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

