Cascading Laughter

I laughed.
As the tears threatened to flee my eyes.
I blinked them away because strong people don’t cry.

To hide my insecurities,
To cover up my self uncertainty,
I laughed.

Masked by a sense of humor,
I hastened to the punchline,
As the tears threatened to flee my eyes.

By and by a release would have allowed me freedom;
But as unfamiliar feelings crept into my being,
I blinked them away because strong people don’t cry.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Celestial says:

    I have this problem of feeling like crying is weakness. Have you heard lyfe jennings’ song called “Cry?”

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Yes!! I love that song! I think we are taught it. It was ingrained in my head at a young age. I was always teased for being “emotional”.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Celestial says:

        I was taught that it was okay to be emotional, it just makes me uncomfortable. Ergo, I write 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. ReignofFaith says:

        Hm I wonder where the discomfort comes from then?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Celestial says:

        I just don’t like being vulnerable out loud. Since, I’ve really stated writing though, it’s kind of inescapable. So, I’m a little softer, but I’d still rather my words cry then my eyes.

        Like

      4. ReignofFaith says:

        Goodness that’s beautifully said “I’d rather my words cry than my eyes”. I have been struggling with that myself which is what I was hinting out in the other post about social media. Because it is so personal when you share your art and it does make you feel vulnerable especially if you feel it’s not being received well or appreciated.

        Like

      5. Celestial says:

        Thank you. Girl, I feel you. It’s like ripping out your heart and hoping everyone thinks it’s beautiful. It’s hard and I want things for my writing that I have no idea how to achieve. God just keeps telling me to exercise patience and all that he has will come. So, I’m trying to do that. Also, listen to the song, “Thy Will,” by Hillary Scott!

        Like

      6. ReignofFaith says:

        That’s exactly where I am. If we focus too much on the point we hope to get to in the distance, we will lose sight of the path we need to walk to get there. Sometimes it’s just about doing the seemingly small things and one day I suppose we will just find that we have made great strides.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Celestial says:

        I think you’re right girlfriend:)
        Stay strong and write on! 😘

        Like

  2. We have all been there. But the tears will burst out, some time, though mostly in private. Thank you for putting this so beautifully. x

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Yes they will. Thank you for reading!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

