The Mother’s Struggle

Copyright: dailymail 2016

I watched.

As Harambe dwarfed the young child, 
power unchallenged and unmatched 
imprisoned in an enclosure.
One that only provides a shadow of the lush, 
ripe and fertile environment of the wild.

I watched.

Sucking in my breath as massive hands gripped innocence
grasping a new life by the limb and exposing society’s cognitive dissonance.

I watched.

I watched with the full understanding that each subsequent breath,
each heartbeat was a miracle and could have very well been that child’s last.

I watched.

And in those moments
the terror changed to visions of my own struggle.
I watched as public opinion crucified the mother.
The mother is always to blame
especially if she is one of color.

Nevermind the speed of many young boys.
I know firsthand their agility.
I’ve seen my very own son’s 
climbing ability.
One which started not only before he could even walk,
but also before he was even one.

I have also carried the burden of blame
for other people’s professional mistake.

I watched.

The mother is always the first to receive ridicule.
Criticized if we stay at home, criticized if we work.
Criticized due to
the failed infrastructure of a zoo.

Yet the mother, hoping to set an example for her child,
oftentimes repays the criticism with grace.

This is a poem about a mother’s struggle, and if I had more time
or thought you even cared,
I would explain to you it’s not just parenting, animal rights,
but it is also a poem about race.

Why bother?

You wouldn’t understand nor would you receive it anyway.

So I’ll just continue to watch.

Gregg and Dickerson have since released a statement on their son’s current state, sharing: “Our child has had a checkup by his doctor and is doing well…If anyone wishes to make a gift, we recommend a donation to the Cincinnati Zoo in Harambe’s name.”

In response to the one word prompt: childhood.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. You addressed the big issues here. People can’t be angry with the mother, if that was their child, I know the fate they’d choose for Harambe. It’s a devastating situation altogether.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      It really is. And children move so fast it’s so hard to place blame on the family. The real issue that would have avoided all this is the question of whether or not they should be held in captivity at all. This whole thing could have definitely been avoided but they were left with a decision and they made the right one.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I completely agree. Animals should not be in captivity, let alone animals that will lose their lives should anything go wrong. This whole situation is a big question about our ethics

        Like

      2. ReignofFaith says:

        I have to agree with you on that. It raises multiple questions in my eyes!

        Liked by 1 person

    2. ReignofFaith says:

      Oh and thanks for commenting! I like to hear other people’s perspective on the topics I write about.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

