You and Your Witchcraft

There is much interest in the supernatural, spiritual warfare. It is the subject of many sermons and books. People have wrapped it in their pagan Christmas paper, tied it with a bow, and sold it on mass levels. “Ministers” have gone as far as selling 100 word assessments to determine one’s level of demonic influence in different areas of life. Spiritual warfare exists, it’s biblical; yet, sometimes your issues are not that deep.

You do not need to find out the names of the principalities that control certain areas that may be affecting your life. You don’t always need specialized prayer to cast the demon out. Sometimes all you need to do is exercise some obedience.

So Samuel said: “Has the LORD as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, As in obeying the voice of the LORD? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, And to heed than the fat of rams. For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, And stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry. Because you have rejected the word of the LORD, He also has rejected you from being king.” (I Samuel‬ ‭15:22-23‬)

My first pregnancy was incredibly difficult. I had an intense itch in my lower body that was exacerbated by the consumption of any type of fat. I would scratch until I was bleeding profusely and I still have the discoloration on my legs as a reminder.

I was in utter misery, but that misery wasn’t just medical. I felt a very dark presence that I would describe to my husband as “out to get me”.

It wasn’t until today, as I marinated on my past experiences and the above scripture that I realized this:

I was paying the consequences for my own disobedience.

It wasn’t that God was punishing me but my disobedience left me vulnerable to attack. Yes, there’s grace. Yes, there’s His love and longsuffering; but there is also a consequence for sin. Not always hell, but a lack of access to the promise of health, prosperity, peace, and anything else that benefits you in this life.

I can’t speak for you. I don’t know your story nor am I aware of your circumstances. But I speak from personal experience. Disobedience can lead you to a place you don’t want to go and it’s not God’s doing. It’s not Him being unjust or vengeful; rather, it’s you voluntarily turning your back on His instruction.

I encourage you to examine yourself, your heart, your actions and weed out any form of disobedience. You will experience a renewed level of freedom.

Leave a Reply

