The Apology

Discover ChallengeThe Apology

I apologized for not fitting into
the mold that society laid out for me.

The “Land of the Free”
but only if my thoughts and vision fall into alignment;
if not you place limits on my creativity, chains to maintain the course of my liberty. 

I apologized when my opinions
offended your sensibilities and the fragility of your insecurities.

You gave me the label of opinionated, 
a scarlet letter in our society.
“Quiet your noise”, you said, “because opinions are unbecoming”. 
“Just fall in line with the status quo”. 
You would rather live what you know 
than expand your thinking and take the opportunity 
to grow.

So I apologized.

I apologized for the truth
because the truth made you uncomfortable.

I apologized.

Many times, 
I apologized.
When it was a lie, even still,
I apologized.

So excuse me if I dont give you an apology.

Pardon me, I’m just no longer sorry.

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Good for you! I hate that there’s this sense of needing to apologize if you don’t fall in line with everyone else. This has been something I’ve struggled with for a large part of my life. I don’t fall into the mold of a typical woman stereotype, I don’t keep my mouth shut and smile when I don’t like something, and I am perfectly ok with saying NO to the things I don’t want to do. This at best earns me comments on my “strong personality” and at worse, I’m a B****… But oh well, I like me ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      I definitely don’t fall in line with everyone else either so I know exactly what you mean!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. ReignofFaith says:

      Sorry about the delay by the way, for some reason two old comments just came through to my phone.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No worries at all! ๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

  2. AMEN! Don’t ever succumb to the limits of societal expectations. Powerful post.

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Thank you so much! Very nice of you to say that. It took my about 3 years of crazy experiences to finally learn that. Succumbing to it caused my some EXTREME problems in my life.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the line “chains to maintain the course of my liberty” – a contradiction if ever I heard one – a bit like ‘controlling the free society’.
    Part of this sound like they would make a very good rap – they have the same structure and cadence.
    Oh, and I agree wholeheartedly with your every, beautifully expressed word. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Thank you!! It actually is an excerpt of a spoken word piece I’m writing, similar to rap so your comment is very uplifting. Spoken Word is my passion!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Have you performed your spoken word? I would love to see that! You probably have a YouTube channel and a Soundcloud account with all your stuff on, don’t you – all cued up and just waiting for me to watch and listen to? ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      2. ReignofFaith says:

        Lol yes I have performed but no I don’t have a YouTube channel yet. I’m still refining my writing before I even record anything. Once I start doing that I’m sure I’ll post the videos on my blog.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’m looking forward to that. You have a strong ‘voice’ and have something interesting to say.

        Like

      4. ReignofFaith says:

        You are so uplifting. I’m looking forward to making videos. I’m actually new to spoken word, it just kind of came to me one day.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Just your smile and words are good enough to make the day shine. Praise God for giving us lips and voice so that we can bestow these on the world. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  4. Celestial says:

    This is exactly how I feel. I love this!

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      I’m glad it speaks to you! It’s hard to be “different” or stand out at times.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. daramemon says:

    Nice that’s what happ to all lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

