Identity Crisis

I’m troubled today.


I’m troubled because I am constantly confronted by the identity crisis that plagues the church. It wraps around the neck and mind of the Believer and chokes out their purpose.

Who are you? Who is God? Who is He to you?

If, when you ponder these questions, your responses center around your “pious” acts: serving on the usher board, singing on 3 praise teams and 2 choirs at your church, living humbly, saying grace before your meals, living a pure life, quoting scripture, you may be suffering from an identity crisis. You, my friend, have failed to truly recognize who you are in God


Don’t panic, it’s curable.

When I had my son I suffered from this same affliction. All I did was mother, on the surface there’s nothing wrong with that unless God is calling me to do other things in addition to, and I’m ignoring the call. My seemingly righteous act simply became a form of disobedience. I tossed to the side so many other instructions God had given me, writing being one of them.


What if Joseph had decided that prison was where he would remain. Why not? He was doing the work of the Lord. Interpreting dreams, prophesying to prisoners. He could have done that the rest of His life, right? But he didn’t because He was just passing through prison on his way to where God was truly calling him, Pharoah’s kingdom (Genesis 40; 41). Dream intepretation is something he did as a result of who he was and as a result of his purpose, not the other way around. If he had stayed in prison would God have been pleased with Him in light of His plan?

The truth is I had lost sight of my purpose and calling during the time period. I was beat down by everything I had experienced that I couldn’t stomach any form of failure moving forward would possibly present.


Don’t package your fear of failure, your lack of self esteem as a form of piety. Don’t use it as an excuse to not achieve what God has for you. He never planned for you to remain in the wilderness, but only to take that route on the way to the promised land. He gets glory out of your obedience, not your acts of self determined righteousness.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Accidentally Single says:

    Amen! Very timely post. I needed this.

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Great! Hope you continue to search God put for your purpose and walk in it!

      Like

      1. Accidentally Single says:

        I continue to prayer daily about this.

        Like

      2. ReignofFaith says:

        He doesn’t always give us the full vision. Sometimes it’s step by step like Abraham! The important thing is that you realize you have one and that you’re actively seeking God. It will unfold!

        Like

      3. Accidentally Single says:

        Thank you. I’ve been trying to develop in this area. I am a “doer” and lately I feel as though He has me stagnant or in a holding pattern. But I know where my impatience has led me in the past so I’m sitting still, but I will not lie, I feel uncomfortable. I feel like I’m not accomplishing anything.

        Like

      4. ReignofFaith says:

        I know the exact feeling. I felt like that when my son was first born. There are so many aspects that are involved when following God’s will. Sometimes He has you in a state of rest but it’s really an opportunity for you to prepare. Preparation usually involves a very active prayer life, soaking yourself in His word, and then whatever preparation you can do for the tasks ahead like research and building certain skills.

        For me it was just adopting a certain mentality and going through certain trials that left me ready to walk in what He had for me in this season.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Accidentally Single says:

        That makes a lot of sense. Thank you!

        Like

      6. ReignofFaith says:

        I would say His timing centers around our preparedness as a general rule. Hope that helps! Thanks for commenting!!! 🙂

        Like

  2. This piece is especially good-full of substance. It spoke to me as few others have done. well written. Thankl you!

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      I’m glad you were able to get something out of it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. oh yes! keep writing, you have something valuable to share.

        Like

      2. ReignofFaith says:

        I appreciate your encouragement. My hope is that others find it encouraging!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. daramemon says:

    Very true

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

