Culture as Religion

I started writing a few blog posts last week that I ended up deleting. The most controversial topics were probably gay marriage and why Jesus hates your Easter (but especially your Christmas). The gay marriage post was probably going in a direction you weren’t expecting as was the random holidays Christians have adopted as their own post. 

As I sat in church (I visited Hillsong NYC this morning), I realized all of my thoughts really could be summed up by one point:

Culture has become a religion.



Looking around the PlayStation Theater at all of the people who had come to worship, I realized that it was the most diverse group of Believers I had ever encountered. While I celebrated Hillsong for this, I wondered why it’s unusual elsewhere. Culture was my answer.

We worry more about whether or not someone looks like us than whether or not he/she has the spirit of God. We willingly exchange true worship for that which blatantly contradicts the Word of God (looking at you Christmas tradition). We focus on the history of racial relations in the United States more than we focus on the most important event in history, the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus, which would bring us all together if we would only allow it. All of this because culture told us to.

I think we all, myself included, need to return to God’s Word for in our negligence, we have forgotten who we are, why we are here, and Whom we serve.

I’m left wondering how often we have missed God because race, behaviors (such as worship style), and other aspects of culture have overshadowed Him in our lives. 

For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man observing his natural face in a mirror; for he observes himself, goes away, and immediately forgets what kind of man he was. ‭‭James‬ ‭1:23-24‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

I implore you, take a look in the mirror lest you forget.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Saintswest says:

    I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. I truly hope you will take a few minutes to go over it and let me know if you would like to participate. I look forward to hearing from you! http://wp.me/p77yxG-9U Your writing is always inspirational and real to me. An obvious choice.

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Thank you! It is really encouraging and I appreciate you and your writing! I’m compiling my list of nominees!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Saintswest says:

        It was a natural choice. Your blog is refreshing, honest and motivational. Thank you for making my choice an easy one.

        Like

  2. I LOVE this. So much truth.

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Thank you. I really appreciate you giving me a look! I’m reading some of your posts as we speak.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. vshakvamantz says:

    How REAL! You’re correct, hon I imagine how many angels have went to church and sought to be entertained, and were looked up and down because their clothes didn’t have logos and their toes were out? Or maybe they seemed to represent another denomination?

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Yes denominations is a whole beast within itself.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

