King Me: You Just Can’t Give Up Now

It has been awhile since I posted…but I’m back! This season has been quite tumultuous for me; but through it all I knew know one thing: the Lord told me to remain in my assignment.

I wrote on this topic almost a year ago {see link}…so if the Lord is still saying that to me, you can only imagine.

I don’t know about you, but it was beginning to seem as though nothing, at all, was working in my favor. I felt doubtful about whether or not I had even heard God concerning my life, or if I mistook the enemy’s voice {or even my own} for His. If you have ever been in a similar state, you know what it is like. You begin to doubt everything that you are doing or have done, wondering if it’s the Lord’s will: too scared to push forward but knowing you can’t stay where you are.

That’s really where I was up until a little over a week ago; but I didn’t have full understanding until today.

Keep the following three things in mind:

  • “It may not come when you want it…”
  • Whatever you are waiting on is for an appointed time and though it tarries it will not delay (Habakkuk 2:3). What does that mean? Though it seems like what you are waiting on is lingering or taking longer than you expected, it will come at its appointed time. I used to get slightly annoyed when people would say “It may not come when you want it, but it will be right on time”. I knew the phrase related to patience but it has become more relevant to me now than it has ever been.

  • Don’t abandon your assignment!
  • Because we want it and we want it now there can be a strong urge to take matters into your own hands. I was listening to a pastor this morning at Hope Christian Church and he gave a wonderful illustration of this…growing up, he and his grandfather used to grow things together; but, he was always impatient with the carrots because {as you probably know} most of their growing is done underground in the dirt, I repeat, THE DIRT. He would always have the urge to lift up the carrot to see if it was truly developing into what he knew it was called to be and his grandfather would always tell him, “leave the carrot alone”. Well, when it was time to pick the carrots, the ones he had lifted to see if they were growing were always smaller than the ones he left alone. Why? Because he would not wait and let the carrots go through their growing process.

    Why am I speaking about underground veggies? Because that is how you are when it comes to your process.

    Lately I have been hearing a lot of stories about divorce or other unfortunate events in people’s lives and it was always the same. They would quit something that wasn’t going their way and as a result, abortions of the spiritual nature would occur. They would end their marriage and then their careers, ministries would fall apart. Or other decisions would be made and things within their lives would fall apart.

    I keep hearing these stories over and over again and I know now that the thing you are considering abandoning is the knot that is holding your purpose together, if you abandon it, everything else will fall apart (Ruth 1) {see Stay in Your Assignment.

    So Samuel said: “Has the Lord as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, As in obeying the voice of the Lord? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, And to heed than the fat of rams. For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, And stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry. Because you have rejected the word of the Lord, He also has rejected you from being king.” (1 Samuel 15:22, 23 NKJV)

    Above anything else, do what the Lord told you to do. You account yourself as righteous for the amount of time you spend with the Lord, for your dedication to the church, and your good works; but He wants your obedience. Don’t make up in your mind the how, what, when, and where; continue in what the Lord told you to do.

  • Things are not always as they appear
  • The Lord continued to bring me to 1 Samuel this week, and the aforementioned pastor preached on something that paralleled what the Lord told me. {this section is inspired by a sermon heard at Hope Christian Church on August 19, 2012}

    Now the donkeys of Kish, Saul’s father, were lost. And Kish said to his son Saul, “Please take one of the servants with you, and arise, go and look for the donkeys.” And he said to him, “Look now, there is in this city a man of God, and he is an honorable man; all that he says surely comes to pass. So let us go there; perhaps he can show us the way that we should go.” (1 Samuel 9:3, 6 NKJV)

    Saul was in search of his father’s donkeys and this search led him to Samuel. It seems like you’re chasing after/searching for something that you begin to wonder if you will ever find. You probably have gotten to the point that you are wondering if the thing you are searching/waiting for even exists. While Saul is looking for donkeys, Samuel is preparing to anoint him king.

    Now Samuel took Saul and his servant and brought them into the hall, and had them sit in the place of honor among those who were invited; there were about thirty persons. And Samuel said to the cook, “Bring the portion which I gave you, of which I said to you, ‘Set it apart.’ ” So the cook took up the thigh with its upper part and set it before Saul. And Samuel said, “Here it is, what was kept back. It was set apart for you. Eat; for until this time it has been kept for you, since I said I invited the people.” So Saul ate with Samuel that day. (1 Samuel 9:22-24 NKJV)

    You don’t feel like anything is happening, you feel like you are waiting for something that is not coming. You are considering abandoning something God initially told you to do. Don’t! You are seconds away from the moment. God is going to elevate you in the midst of all of those who looked down on you, doubted you, ridiculed you. You’re going to say king me and, most importantly, God is going to get the glory.

    8 Comments Add yours

    1. TJ says:

      What?!?!? This is my journey right now. Thank you this has blessed me!

      Like

    2. daramemon says:

      Prayer is the hidden motion of prayer, we all become saner once we surrender, the thing is when and how soon

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ReignofFaith says:

        When really is the question and I hope that “why not today” becomes our answer! Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment.

        Like

        1. daramemon says:

          Yes, today be our answer

          Like

    Leave a Reply

    