I Trust God…Kind Of

I don’t know about you, but I am in a new season. A new season is good, but it hasn’t been feeling all that good. I have been less talkative, less chipper…not mad or anything, just flat. Kind of going through my day with blank stare. I typically call this unknown feeling some type of way. You know you feel it. You know it’s out of the norm; but, you don’t quite know what it is.

Well today I received clarity, which is always an exhale moment for me. If you can relate to any of the above feelings, your trust (or faith) is being tested. Don’t stop reading, I know you are tired of that general phrase people just throw out there to sound religious; but the Lord spoke to me on several things, all related to trust.

  • Trusting God…kind of
  • I have never been the type of person that was afraid of taking a risk, but I was always the person that examined a territory before walking into it (even if I found the territory to be risky). I valued the ability to “calculate”. Currently, God has removed the ability to see into the territory I am entering. He has given me a task, told me to complete it, but I can’t see any further than my own hand in front of my face {dark hallway analogy just in case you missed it}. Oftentimes you say you trust God, but you do not trust Him fully with those things which are dearest to you. It may seem like a strange thing to hold dear, but the ability to calculate is on that list of “dear things” for me.

    If you are feeling some type of way, consider what you hold dear and then consider if that thing has been compromised, removed, or become unknown. If you find that to be the case…then keep reading, this message is for you.

  • You love it, now surrender it
  • As a prerequisite to moving forward, God will have you to surrender to him those things which you love.Why? I’m glad you asked. He wants you to recognize that other things/people are your god if they carry more weight than God and His Word.

    Then He said, take now your son, your only son Isaac, whom you love, and go to the land of Moriah, and offer him there as a burnt offering on one of the mountains of which I shall tell you. (Genesis 22:2 NKJV)

    You cannot move forward if you have built an idol within your heart, because in the next season, phase, stage {or whatever you want to call it}, you will begin to serve it instead of God.

    And if it seems evil to you to serve the Lord, choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the river, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you dwell. But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. (Joshua 24:15 NKJV)

    So right now you are being tested. Will you follow God’s instruction, in spite of how you feel? God told Abraham to give Him Isaac, to kill him, but Abraham trusted God more than He loved His son. Not only that, but he believed God would restore him.

    And Abraham said to his young men, Stay here with the donkey; the lad and I will go yonder and worship, and we will come back to you. (Genesis 22:5 NKJV)

  • Ushering in the Promise
  • If you are experiencing something like this, you should really be rejoicing because after the sacrifice comes the fulfillment of the promise. Trust God fully, submit to him that which you treasure because something is at the end of this test. A reward that you cannot see, nor fathom, is waiting for you on the other side. Most importantly, don’t let your love for that person/thing outweigh God. You will end up being controlled by emotion {due to your attachment to the person/thing} and will then take action that is outside of God’s will. Release it to God and put all of your trust in Him.

    2 Comments Add yours

    1. Great blog post! I too am allowing God to lead me in a new way. It isn’t necessarily comfortable but I’ve never been more fulfilled! Blessings on your journey!

      Like

      1. ReignofFaith says:

        Thanks for reading. You are right. It isn’t comfortable but it’s definitely necessary. Keep serving Him!

        Like

    Leave a Reply

    