The Will of God: Prospering in Spite of… (part 3)

Once again I was reflecting on the concept of opposition and how you can will prosper in spite of and because of it. I think it’s clear to you from my last two posts, that I am currently in a season filled with attacks. Because of this, I have to meditate, pray and worship in order to keep my flesh from dictating what I think, feel, and do {but I digress}.

During my reflection, the Holy Spirit spoke to me further on opposition {the depth and density of God’s Word is amazing}.

Now the children of Israel had done according to the word of Moses, and they had asked from the Egyptians articles of silver, articles of gold, and clothing. And the Lord had given the people favor in the sight of the Egyptians, so that they granted them what they requested. Thus they plundered the Egyptians. (Exodus 12:35, 36 NKJV)

Other than being tickled by the visual which comes to mind when I read the word plundered, the fact that the Lord moved upon the hearts of the Egyptians reminded me of the following:

  • God is in complete control.
  • This is one of those phrases you hear all of the time, maybe to the point that, for you, its meaning/impact has been diluted. But I think you’re in need of a reminder concerning God’s omniscience, omnipresence, omnipotence, and power. Not because you are unaware, but maybe because in the midst of your labor, pressure, attacks, frustration, it is hard to see God in your situation {and possibly in you}.

    Prior to the exodus, the children of Israel plundered the Egyptians because the Lord granted them favor in their sight. Recall how God moved upon pharaoh as well:

    And I will harden Pharaohs heart, and multiply My signs and My wonders in the land of Egypt. (Exodus 7:3 NKJV)

    There may be people in this season whose hearts seem hardened against you. Situations where what you do or say warrant a certain {positive or favorable} response; but that response doesn’t come. Even though you have earned it, proved yourself, you are getting the exact opposite.

    God is in control even of your enemies, even if your enemies do not know Him. The Egyptians did not know God; in fact, they openly worshipped idols. But God moved upon their hearts in pressuring and blessing the children of Israel.

    There is a reason for the opposition you have been faced with in this season and God’s hand is in it. Don’t be dismayed, there is a reason and an end.

    3 Comments Add yours

    1. brown betty says:

      Nice reflection; you might like this post honoring Resurrection Day: http://wp.me/p2fVFl-3R

      Like

      1. ReignofFaith says:

        Thanks for commenting! I did take a look at your blog.

        Like

    Leave a Reply

    