Breakthrough: Confidence and Praise

…but Christ as a Son over His own house, whose house we are if we hold fast the confidence and the rejoicing of the hope firm to the end. (Hebrews 3:6 NKJV)

We are all waiting for something and I am sensing that some of you are beginning to get weary, frustrated, nervous, impatient.

This week I was just tired. Regardless of the number of hours I slept, the next day I felt fatigued. I wanted to blame it on my busy schedule, not eating enough, not getting enough sleep. So Friday, after going to the grocery store, paying for my groceries, and promptly forgetting them (unbagged) on the self checkout belt, {darn you technology} I decided I needed to go home, eat a full meal, and sleep.

By the time I got home, the debilitating headache I had, which caused me to forget my groceries, had escalated. I ate and got in the bed, sleeping for 3 hours.

When I woke up, I was tired with a headache.

*pause*

Why? [blank stare]

I did what you do when you are tired and have a headache. Why were the feelings persisting?

The next day, which happens to be today, it dawned on me. The issue was not physical and there was nothing in my flesh I could do to change the feeling because

I had grown weary.

Here are several points to keep in mind while you are waiting for your breakthrough.

Your breakthrough requires the following:

  • Vision and Instruction/li>

    You must first hear the voice of God in order to gain an understanding of the season you are in and where He is taking you. He will give you your His vision for your life, as well as instructions that will lead you to manifestation.

    Now the Lord had said to Abram: “Get out of your country, from your family and from your father’s house, to a land that I will show you. I will make you a great nation; I will bless you and make your name great; and you shall be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and I will curse him who curses you; and in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.” So Abram departed as the Lord had spoken to him, and Lot went with him. And Abram was seventy-five years old when he departed from Haran. Then Abram took Sarai his wife and Lot his brother’s son, and all their possessions that they had gathered, and the people whom they had acquired in Haran, and they departed to go to the land of Canaan. So they came to the land of Canaan. (Genesis 12:1-5 NKJV)

    Abraham received instruction from the Lord regarding his

    present: Move away from where you are living

    and a vision from the Lord regarding his

    future: I will show you the land.

    I had allowed myself to focus more on the breakthrough rather than the journey. Keep the vision in mind but don’t allow it to overshadow His instructions.

    For the vision is yet for an appointed time; but at the end it will speak, and it will not lie… (Habakkuk 2:3 NKJV)

  • Confidence
  • Once you have instructions from the Lord as well as a vision for the future, trust fully and whole heartedly in its manifestation. Even if you are in situations that seem like you are headed in the wrong direction, or not moving at all, continue to trust Him.

    …Though it tarries, wait for it; because it will surely come, it will not tarry. (Habbakuk 2:3 NKJV)

    When you begin to worry, doubt, or fear, you focus on the vision rather than the instruction. If you continue in these emotions, you will find yourself

      Weary
      Greek Word: ekkakeó
      Meaning: to be faint, weary, out of a bad feeling/what is inwardly bad, to fail in heart

    That is what happened to me this past week. I focused too much on the vision rather than the instruction. If you are feeling short tempered, sick, tired, hungry, heavy, disoriented, etc., chances are you have become weary.

    And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not. (Galatians 6:9 KJV)

  • Praise
  • Not only does praise express appreciation to God for who He is, it is an important tool against the enemy.

    “…To console those who mourn in Zion, to give them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they may be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified.” (Isaiah 61:3 NKJV)

    When I realized I was weary, I covered myself in praise. I literally worshipped God out loud and sung songs to Him. Eventually, that spirit left me and I felt refreshed, at peace, and closer to God.

    Finally, know that God will not lie and He will not forsake you. Though the vision may tarry, focus on what He is telling you to do in this moment. The vision will come to pass.

    More on Breakthrough

    Leave a Reply

    