To Pay or Not to Pay: Tithing

I was teaching Bible study at my mother’s church this morning and I told them a story of a person I know who is a retired lawyer and once had to decide whether or not he should pay his tithes or pay the money to keep his license active. I could go so many places with that story, but I was using it to reiterate the idea that we are not supposed to be conformed to the world; we have to stand on what God says regardless of what the situation looks like. If God says bring your tithes, then bring your tithes and trust that He will has provide provided all of your needs.

One of the students interrupted, and I was glad because they seemed dry this morning, and asked “where in the Bible does it say we have to pay our tithes?” I got excited because I was thinking to myself finally we are getting real in here. I know they have questions, they are just not comfortable asking them.

I am sharing this because I think that for some, there is a lack of understanding of the concept of tithing.

“Will a man rob God? Yet you have robbed Me! But you say, ‘In what way have we robbed You?’ In tithes and offerings. You are cursed with a curse, For you have robbed Me, even this whole nation. Bring all the tithes into the storehouse, That there may be food in My house, and try Me now in this,” Says the Lord of hosts, “If I will not open for you the windows of heaven and pour out for you such blessing that there will not be room enough to receive it. “And I will rebuke the devourer for your sakes, So that he will not destroy the fruit of your ground, nor shall the vine fail to bear fruit for you in the field,” Says the Lord of hosts… (Malachi 3:8-11 NKJV)

She brought up several things:

1. Does the Bible say to tithe?

As you can see, in the book of Malachi, it does. Some people want to use the argument that tithing was part of the law and now we are not bound by the law; however, tithing was practiced before the law was put in place (Genesis 14:20).

2. Who says a tithe is 10%?

The word tithe in Malachi 3:8 comes from the Hebrew word maaser and it means a tithe or a tenth part.

3. Who says a tithe is just money?

She brought up a very good point. She felt as though you don’t have to just give your money, you can give your time, love and other non monetary valuables. This is true; you can and should do that. But it is still an instruction from God to give a tenth of your monetary earnings, however that is measured. During the time of Abraham, goods and livestock were assigned value and traded; nowadays, we use currency.

It is important to understand that giving a tenth of your income is not about money going to God through the church. Your tithes are a form of worship. It is saying that God I trust you with my finances, I honor you with my finances, and you come first.

You give out of obedience and love for God; but still know that the money you give is more like an investment into your future. God says to “try Him” and we will see that when we are obedient in our giving, He will open the floodgates of heaven and pour upon us a blessing we won’t even have room to hold.

This form of worship also has the ability to silence the enemy when it comes to your finances. The enemy has no legal right to operate in you and your life unless you allow him. You already have victory through Jesus Christ. Look at your tithes and offerings as another weapon against the “devourer”.

Have faith in God in all areas of your life, including your finances.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. biblestudyonbaptism says:

    They used currency back in Genesis as well. Malachi was talking about the priest that were robbing God. Today the pastors are the ones robbing God, with a few people doing everything, the rest of the body just sit in their seats and watch, doing nothing, except of course give their tithes.

    The Bible says all believers are priest.
    (1 Peter 2:9-10) But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light: Which in time past were not a people, but are now the people of God: which had not obtained mercy, but now have obtained mercy.

    The Lord Himself even stated, go and sell all that you have and give to the poor. I not saying the Lord wants you to sell all you have, but I think the poor are the ones that should be giving too. Not that you shouldn’t support your pastor. Tithing was for Jews only, not for gentiles.

    I had a pastor teach Malachi 3:10, I don’t believe pastors should teach tithing, if he does, he should start to be concerned about his own faith.

    Kindest regards,

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      I’m not sure how the quotation supports your beliefs. If you believe that the tithe is only for the priests, while saying we are all priests…it would seem that the tithe would apply to us all now?

      I’m also not sure what you mean by saying only the pastors are doing anything.

      But thank you for reading and commenting! People seem drawn to posts about money but I have several topics that you may find beneficial as you pursue the Lord’s will for your life 🙂

      Like

  2. biblestudyonbaptism says:

    The tithes were for land owners, only crops and livestock were tithed. They did have currency back then, but was never tithed. The way the priest robbed God was, they never gave the Lord the best ox or lamb as a burnt offering.

    Fisherman and carpentors never tithed money or anything, they offered maybe turtledoves or pigeons as sin or treaspass offerings or maybe one of the five major offerings. It is hard to practice your priesthood when the pastor gets the final say. I’m not asking for money, I just don’t like pastors making people tithe when they cannot afford it, I was one of them.

    Thanks, I like your articles, and enjoy them.

    Like

    1. ReignofFaith says:

      Sorry for any negative experiences you may have had. I guess I will just address that because I really have decided not to dispute with people on my blog; but rather to let them share their thoughts and the Holy Ghost will convict them.

      I too have had financial obstacles. Im a very young business owner so you can imagine. But the basis of financial increase and really your walk as a Believer is by faith. Everything in the kingdom of God is accessed through it. To say you can’t afford tithing (or even whatever else since you don’t believe in tithing), holds you in the position of not being able to afford it.

      I have found that the first part of financial increase is believing not only that God can, but that it is His will for your life. Once you believe that and look at scriptures that support it, working on what you say as well as asking Him for instruction in order to see the physical manifestation of His promise is the next step.

      See my post in the Finance section, it is also highlighted if you go to the homepage and view it in the full version rather than mobile.

      Thanks for responding! Sorry if this is written terribly lol I’m too tired for eloquence.

      Like

  3. biblestudyonbaptism says:

    That’s ok, still better than mine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

